AWOL

Hi, Readers,

My last entry was in November, shortly before my first cataract operation. It went very well, thank you, but the days following were full of anxiety on my part about not getting even a drop of water into that eye, plus having 3 different drops put in my eye four times a day. With my spouse’s help, it was less worrisome. The following week, it was 3 drops 3 times a day, then down to one after a month. On top of that, I had to wear a plastic eye “bubble” at night to make sure I didn’t rub it in my sleep or scrape it with my pillow! Yikes! That tape that held it on left sticky stuff on my face every day! I was so uptight about doing everything just right. We were talking about the future of my eyesight here!

Thanksgiving and all that that entails intervened. The drops went on into December, just one day before I had to start having them again for the other eye! We encountered a problem: The eye surgery, according to the optometrist doing the post-op follow-up, had been done perfectly. Only problem was that the eye remained very red. This went on for weeks (and persists somewhat to this day), right through Christmas and New Year’s. It worried me so that I was at that optometrist’s office every week! Yesterday was, hopefully, my last day of visits. When I mentioned that my vision in that eye is blurry if the other eye is covered, he tested it. What do you know: I’m nearsighted in this eye only! Otherwise, I have 20/20 vision for driving, watching TV, etc.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m very grateful for my renewed vision. Haven’t been 20/20 for many years, but it has been trying for me. In addition, as of the first week the kids have gone back to school, I have taken on a tutoring job, helping a young girl with her math. Being a writer and strong in the language arts area, math is not my best area! But, having been an elementary teacher in my former life, I think I can help her, as long as we stay out of any type of algebra-related material!

Well, I’ve gone on and on, but it’s been cathartic for me. Now I won’t have any excuses for not doing a blog entry more often!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

